Eid Bank Holiday April 2024: Banks to be closed for Eid al-Fitr in several states; check list here | India Business News

Eid Bank Holiday April 2024: Banks to be closed for Eid al-Fitr in several states; check list here | India Business News



Eid Bank Holiday April 2024: Banks in certain states will remain closed on Thursday on the occasion of Ramzan-Id (Eid-Ul-Fitr), as per the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday list.
Eid al-Fitr begins when the crescent moon is sighted, marking the start of Shawwal, the 10th month in the Islamic calendar. Since lunar months last 29 to 30 days, Muslims usually confirm Eid’s date the night before it begins.
As per an ET report, the crescent moon wasn’t seen in Delhi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow, on April 9 so Eid will be celebrated on April 11.However, in Kerala, Ladakh, and Jammu and Kashmir, where the crescent was sighted on April 9, Eid will be celebrated today (April 10), aligning with the celebrations in various countries in the Middle East and West.

Here’s the bank holiday schedule for Eid al-Fitr across states:

April 10: Banks will be closed in Kerala.
April 11 (Thursday)- Ramzan-Id (Eid-Ul-Fitr) (1st Shawwal): Banks will be closed in most states, except Chandigarh, Sikkim, Kerala, and Himachal Pradesh.
ALSO READ | Bank Holidays April 2024: Banks open for only 3 days this week in some states; check Ugadi, Gudi Padwa, Eid offs

Additionally, there are other bank holidays in April:

April 13 (second Saturday)- Bohag Bihu/Cheiraoba/Baisakhi/Biju Festival: Banks will be closed in Tripura, Assam, Manipur, and Jammu and Srinagar.
April 15 (Monday)- Bohag Bihu/Himachal Day: Banks will be closed in Assam and Himachal Pradesh.
April 16 (Tuesday)- Shree Ram Navami (Chaite Dasain): Banks will be closed in various states including Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Chandigarh, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Jharkhand.
April 20 (third Saturday)- Garia Puja: Banks will be closed in Tripura.
Throughout April, banks are closed for several reasons including year-end account closure, Babu Jagjivan Ram’s Birthday/Jumat-ul-Vida, Gudhi Padwa/Ugadi Festival/Telugu New Year’s Day/Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba)/1st Navratra, Ramzan-Id (Eid-Ul-Fitr), Bohag Bihu/Cheiraoba/Baisakhi/Biju Festival, Bohag Bihu/Himachal Day, Shree Ram Navami (Chaite Dasain), and Garia Puja.
The advent of digital banking channels has transformed banking services, providing customers with the convenience of accessing banking services anytime, anywhere through internet banking and mobile banking platforms. These channels enable users to carry out various banking transactions such as fund transfers, loan applications, and fixed deposit management with ease and efficiency.
The Reserve Bank of India has categorised bank holidays into three main types: Negotiable Instruments Act Holidays, Real-Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) Holidays, and Bank Account Closing Holidays. This classification ensures clarity and consistency in banking operations, enabling customers to plan their financial activities accordingly.



No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *